Month: July 2006

  • Stilleben


    The word “stilleben” is originally used in the late 16-1700 paintings, like Rembrandt and many others (Rembrandt must be the most famous) In photography, the word is adopted and used for stylish pictures with no message or deeper meaning. The whole idea about stilleben photography is show the more nice side of anything. In this example you see the top of a pepper pot. It’s important for a stlleben photography that you can see all details, therefore I’ve chosen to do it macro. In macro it’s pure and clean, even if it’s dirty… if yu know what I mean. In this picture, for instance, you can see the pepper at the top of the pepper pot and you can clearly see the patina of the brass, wich can’t be considered as clean. A closeup makes a difference in that matter.


    In some ways stilleben can be very boring, especially if it’s flowers – ok, flowers can be beuatifull but at some point it’s it enough. Have you seen the first 100 flower stilleben photos, you have seen them all. It’s with mixed emotions when I make a stlleben and I have actually made very few. These are my favorites of that kind……… so far!

  • Planet of The Ant

    Walking alone on the planet of the ant. Far away from our galaxy in the other end of the universe. Hard rocks and heavy gravity makes life complicated, even for an ant.The eternal wandering in loneliness from east to west, from north to south, round and round and round. Where you ever were is where you will end. Always coming back to where you started and never get nowhere…… No, it’s a stone in my garden!

  • Time

    “Time is changing everything“. That’s from some lyrics in a song. I really don’t remember who played that song or if it is the name of the song. It was from the eighties and somehow it’s stays very clear in my memories….. the words themselves, I mean. Those few words says a lot and it’s true. Time does change everything. Not only the usual evolution or all that can be seen with our eyes. Inside people there is a constant change. From being a child to being a grown-up, from being a young mature to being an old fellow. The way we listens to music, the way we read…. actually, the way we percieve things. It’s a naturally development in humans liives and there’s no way it can be different. On the other hand, time will still be the same; seconds, minutes, hours, days, weeks, months and years.


    I like to finish this entry by quote the lyrics of a song I did years ago:


     


    Time.
    Time will never change, no matter how you arrange.
    Find the things that you like, don’t let it all pass you by.
    I won’t tell me what to do, cause you can do it right.
    Everything you put me through, belongs to time.
    Days they come and they go. The world turns time will flow.
    Minutes and hours won’t sway. Tomorrow’s yet another day.
    I won’t tell you what to do, cause you can make it right.
    Everything you put me through belongs to time.

    Check out my lens

  • Reflections of life

    Sometimes a photo shows more than just a picture. A deeper meaning or some kind of inside understanding. Not everyone will be able to see it. Take for instance this photo; What does it show? At first glimpse it shows some reflections in a car window. If you take a closer look, you can also see a girl in a pink dress. You can also see the mirror on the side of the car. A mirror that is used to look back. What more?… there’s a wall and a house. And what does it all mean? Some might say: “Nothing at all, for me” That’s naturally right, cause it won’t say anything without an explanation. Anyway, now that you know what to look for, you might be able to make your own intepretation of the photo. I think 90% of the intepretations will be right. Let me help: The girl is my daughter. The mirror looks back. The wall is in front of me and my daughter, not behind….. can you make anything out of that?

  • Power of The Wind

    Proudly the reach for the skies, tellinh their tale of the human beings. The one animal, that not only live in and by the nature but also drain the resources. Energy are essential for our lives but there are many ways of utilize and exploit it. Oil and gas are running out and everybody knows but can’t comprehend. At least, it seems so! Water, air and maybe thunder and lightning will be one of the main energy sources in the future. Some has taken the technique in advance, but unfortunatly; too few. When will the world of human beings be really aware? When will we realize ans start changing our lives? Ok, there are some progress around. Bio-fuel for cars is the start. Less pollution and less exploitation of the worlds resources are the results.


    In Denmark, we have used windmills for more than 30 years and when you travel in Denmark,  you’ll se windmills everywhere. Not only are windmills a positive step for the inviroment, but it’s also nice to look at. A line of windmills in the landscape are beautiful. This photo should proof that!


  • Hasle Klinker & Chamottestensfabrik was a tile and klinker plant located on the most southern part of Denmark, the island called Bornholm. The plant existed in more than 100 years but in 1997 it closed down. Since that, the plant have been “depopulated”, at least it looks so. It looks like everything is left as it was the last working day. The coffee thermo is still to be found around (probably with not so hot coffee :) and the offices was left with all the papers and folders laying around. It’s like a ghost plant! Somehow facinating but also a little wierd and maybe scary. I went there for about a month ago and took a lot of photos. In one end of the plant, a excavator was about to tear down the place and in this wirting moment I think the whole plant has gone. See all the photos HERE

  • Music is therapy…


     for my mind. At the same time, it can be a real pain in the ass. I’m not talking about listening to music, I’m talking about composing. In long periods I simply can’t. What ever I do, I can’t finish it. Even if I got an great idea and everything seems to be fine. Suddenly I get a blockage.No matter what I do, I loose the feeling I had about the project/idea and it’ll be reduced to noisy sounds and no overall texture. Opposit can I in very long periods be extreme active. One month in 2004 I did 40 tracks in a month… unbelieving! But still, even tho’ it sucks; I love it!! Check MySpace Music